East Coast Hip Hop · Music

Album #16: Tical by Method Man

Album selection: #16

Title: Tical

Artist: Method Man

Genre: East Coast Hip Hop

Year: 1994

The album featured in one of the “best album” charts that I used to create the bulk of the list I’m pulling my selections from, in this case this was: Best Albums Of The 90s by Select (1999) .

Released in 1994, this was the debut studio album by Method Man.

My knowledge of Method Man is pretty limited, other than knowing he was a member of Wu-Tang Clan (who, I also don’t have a lot of experience of). Rap and Hip-Hop are genres that I’ve never really paid much attention to. It’s one of those things that was there, I was aware of it, had no animosity towards it, but wasn’t particularly attracted to it either.

The first Rap album I’ve ever listened to in full was N.W.A.’s Straight Outta Compton, which was the first selection in this one-album-a-week thing I’m doing, and I liked that. It had a lot of power to it and the production was great – it sounded amazing. Tical hasn’t stuck me in the same way, not even close. The production on the album is a lot softer that Straight Outta Compton (which, to be fair, is my only read point of comparison), but the tracks also lack the hooks to keep me listening. Of all the songs on the album, it’s probably only All I Need that caught my attention.

As a result, while I’ve listened to the album a few times in the past week, each time I play it it kinda fades into the background and my attention wanders. It’s another one that, I feel, isn’t for me.

I’m having a bit of a off run of things at present. Womack & Womack’s Conscience didn’t do it for me either, and then the originally planned week 16 album – Easter by Patti Smith Group – kinda slipped through my grasp due to other commitments. Hopefully next week’s album will mark a change for the more positive.

Favourite Track: All I Need.

Will I listen to it again?: No.

Leave a comment